Apart from the physical packing and sorting of things in the house, the biggest faff of moving is all the other stuff you have to remember to do.  Today I went to the Post Office to arrange for redirection of my post.  I had filled out all the information online which the royal mail website said was possible.  Then when it got to crunch time (ie coughing up the £94) they informed me that I actually needed signatures from all the people whose mail was being redirected and I should print out the form and take it into the post office.  I usually avoid going into the post office unless it is totally necessary. This is mostly because I had my first and only quitting smoking related rage attack in a post office and these memories are mortifying.  I stopped smoking 12 years ago and shortly afterwards went to collect my Nan’s pension (another of the reasons I don’t like the place).  Anyway some guy in the queue behind me gave me attitude for something that really wasn’t my fault and was in fact the fault of a very attractive blonde lady ahead of us in the queue.  So after he essentially called me Hitler only to realise that she was at fault, he blushed and backtracked, falling over himself to reassure her that whilst he thought it was me holding us up, it was an offense on a par with spitting in his morning coffee, but now that he realised it was her holding us up, it was his pleasure to wait, after all he didn’t have anywhere else to be and so standing around looking at her would be in the top 3 things he would have chosen to do that morning.  Normally, this kind of blathering by men who are completely at the mercy of their hormones makes me giggle to myself  and maybe roll my eyes a little.  However on this particular day, I just found it deeply annoying and offensive.  So I let him have it.  I didn’t hold back, I yelled and waved my arms about and generally embarrassed myself until he was stammering and trying to escape through the window.  Needless to say, the rest of the queue disappeared (this is England after all) and I was left shaking with rage and Nan’s pension book.  I came back to myself about 10 minutes later and wanted to die of embarrassment.  I can only think it was the lack of nicotine, after all 50 cigarettes a day to none is cold turkey and it turns out I am allergic to the patches…

I digress though.  Today, I showed up with the form duly signed by 6 family members who have all lived here at some point or another, and with the required 2 forms of ID.  It turns out that I need 2 forms of ID for everyone with a different surname.  So I would have to make it a family outing where we all show up with bills and passports and stand in line and smile and wave at the man behind the counter etc etc.  I took a deep breath.  I went to my happy place, and the guy must have thought I was mad standing there trying to breathe through my eyelids, but (and this makes me proud) I sorted it out without too much fuss.  So maybe I can start feeling a bit more confident when I go to post stuff, we’ll see.

Then I got to thinking about what else I need to do.  So I cancelled the newspapers, called the utilities, and arranged for the end of tenancy cleaners.  Also, when are you supposed to let people know?  I mean how much notice is enough?  If I was to send out an email with the new address on it, would everything start going to the new address immediately?  How inconvenient is that?  But if I leave it til the last minute then will it not be enough notice?  I mean it’s not keeping me up at night or anything, but a rule of thumb here would be good.  I have decided that 3 weeks is the optimum, so next week, I’ll send out the email.

Just as a by the way, today I sorted through a bunch of stuff and made a pile that I thought should go to charity/be thrown out.  I showed it to D when she got home from work and she said that she would want to photograph some of it before it goes.  And instead of shaking my head and commenting that she is officially as mad as a box of frogs, I thought that this was a completely normal and sane state of affairs and in fact, was quite grateful for the opportunity to throw this (mostly broken) stuff away.  I feel like my ‘normal’ parameters are shifting all the time.  Next thing you know, I will be photographing everything I own before throwing it away just in case…

